Past winners<br> & Finalists

Below some inspirational videos of
past winners & finalists, sharing how
the Business Woman of The Year
competition impacted their lives and

Winners 2018

Samantha Dunbar

Growth Category

The winner was selected for her exceptional personal and business growth. She is involved in the leadership of her professional association and even represented South Africa overseas. Since 2011 the business has grown exponentially from 1 to 6 branches, and their personnel has grown by 128%.

Read More

The business has clearly articulated values and is involved in human improvement and community development. They also support a school and a day care centre as part of reaching out to the community. The winner certainly is a living example of the vision of the SACBW – To grow women, to grow businesses and to grow communities.
Marisa van der Merwe

Community Category

The winner developed a successful franchise that impacts the mental and intellectual skills and the scholastic achievement of the learners in disadvantaged communities. Whilst impacting the learners, the franchisees are also gainfully employed and the business has expanded internationally and is currently being launched in the USA.

Read More

The business uses the benefits of a foundation to support the programs and is currently developing and rolling out training material for managers and teams in corporates. The business has successfully integrated the ability to generate funding for its programs and to impact the community by creating jobs, improving learner skills and making it fun to do. We believe that they will continue to grow and enlarge their impact in our communities and South Africa as a country.
Bertha van der Spuy Lombaard

Presidential Award Winner

Our winning business woman started her business in 2007 with only 4 employees and has grown to 31 full time employees. They provide an essential preventative health and safety service to their clients and have a joyful passion for what they do. They carry out their service with care and passion and have a never give-up attitude.

Read More

They are a level 2 BBBEE rated company and have successfully brought in a black woman director. It impressed us that the business continued to grow since 2012 and that they are expanding to other geographical areas based on client demand. The judges believed that this business will continue to impact the lives of many South Africans in an industry that has big corporate players.
Lorette Grobbelaar

Judges Choice Award

Die beoordelaars het gevoel dat hierdie dame ook verdien om te wen! Sy loop op voetspore wat vir haar bekend is. In 2015 het sy die SACBW Sakevrou van die jaar toekenning gekry en dit het vir haar nuwe deur oopgemaak as motiveringspreker. Haar besigheid het ook daarna verskeie toekennings ontvang van die Mosselbaaise Sakekamer en ander.

Read More

In 2016 het sy ‘n meganiese werkswinkel en hierdie jaar ‘n Koffiewinkel toegevoeg tot haar besigheid. Met 47 personeellede het sy haar elke dagse unieke uitdagings. Haar mentor, Pieter Snyman, het altyd vir haar gesê: “Wees rustig en loop terug op die spore wat vir jou gewerk het”. Advies aan ander sakevroue is: “Wees sterk, walk tall die land het ons nodig en is vol uitdagings; wees jouself, trap nuwe spore maar trap diep spore”!!
Hlengiwe Dludlu

People’s Choice Award

Overall Competition Comments

The judges were impressed with the quality of the entries and the impact these exceptional successful business women made, and continue to make, in their communities through the results achieved in their businesses.

These business women are extremely passionate about their businesses and we could clearly see the impact that winning a SACBW award had on their lives. Their individual journeys, sometimes through severe adversity, inspired us as judges. We believe that with this quality of talent available to SACBW, the organisation has a bright future.

Past Winners & Finalists

Mercia van der Walt


EL Gosling


Caruschka Rautenbach


Yolandi Kruger


Christine Taylor


Lizelle Grobler


Sonya Didloff


Anita Botes


Lezel Havenga


Rina Deysel


Jeanette Kruger Hibbens


Irene Fitzi George